selfcare research

below is information about my skincare, haircare, makeup, and bodycare routines

note this is a routine that was cultivated to suit my body type, my routine changes over time and as seasons differ

my skin type

dry, sensitive, sometimes oily in t-zone during summer

my morning routine

cleanser: la roche posay oil cleanser

toner: im from rice toner (every other day)

lotion: la roche posay lipkar lotion

sunscreen: la roche posay mosturizer with spf 30

my evening routine (optional)

cleanser: la roche posay micellar water

lotion: la roche posay lipkar lotion

retinol: tretinoin cream 0.025% (every 2-3 days)

my hair type

combination hair (oil + dry), medium thickness, sensitive scalp

hair care

shampoo: biolage scalp sync shampoo

conditioner: biolage full density conditioner

hair oil: biolage all-in-one multi-benefit oil

shine mist: biolage shine milk

leave-in conditioner: amika hydro rush leave-in conditioner

dry shampoo: drybar sensitive scalp dry shampoo

my body type

dry, sensitive, occasional eczema flair ups

body care

body lotion: eucerin skin calming lotion

body sunscreen: la roche posay anthelios ultra-light sunscreen spray lotion spf 60

perfume: nest lychee perfume oil, viktor & wolf flowerbomb perfume

makeup go-tos

mascara: maybelline lash sensational mascara, maybelline lash sensational sky high mascara, benefit roller lash mascara

eyeliner: revlon extra skinny liquid eyeliner, elf liquid eyeliner

brows: revlon brow dip, anastasia beverly hills brow wiz pencil

lips: aquaphor, laneige sweet candy lip mask gloss, vaseline

eye shadow: too faced kitty likes to scratch mini eye shadow palette

my work makeup: mascara, brow dip, aquaphor

nice event makeup: liquid eyeliner, mascara, brow dip, laneige gloss, brown eye shadow at edge of liner and eye, white eye shadow under the entire bottom lash line, maybe blush on tips of cheek and nose. fresh hair with some shine spray, and add nest lychee perfume

care notes

my skin does not like using retinol every day, so ideally ever 2 days for my application frequency would be the goal

my sunscreen gives me slight irritation at application but it makes my skin feel soft and hydrated later on - if i save up money i can experiment with a different sunscreen again. can try out a previous sunscreen i used called the corsx aloe soothing suncream

best to apply dry shampoo earlier rather than later, and apply to entire root area instead of just bangs area. flip hair and get hair above neck then comb for some boost to volume

benefit mascara is good as a first coat then the maybelline mascara is good to build up the 2nd+ layers - the benefit one doesnt add too much volume compared to the maybelline due to formula, but the benefit roller and mascara will create a longer lash with less clumping, so its ideal to use this one for the first coat. in a hurry or if i dont care too much, using just maybelline is just as good, but will be more chunky groups of lashes - far away this is unoticable, up close its also minimal

blow drying hair on cool instead of hot will help reduce damage to the hair. i normally only use a hair dryer on cool because i dont typically curl my hair, if i used setting curls or a curling iron or hair straightener, blow drying hot may help to set some hairstyles. blow drying hot will also make the hair dry faster

after a shower i use my leave-in conditioner (at below the ears to the ends of the hair), comb it through, apply my hair oil, comb it through, then the next day i will use my shine milk. i alternate between my hair oil and my shine milk until i shower again then repeat this process

my skin can tolerate only being washed once a day. i sometimes wash my face twice a day but it use to lead to irritation, possibly due to cleansing too much. i switched my routine to only washing my face in the morning and occasionally using my micellar water at night. i cannot go a day without lotion however and my skin will be very irritated if i dont wash my face at least once a day and lotion it. my rice toner helps with hydration if i feel extra dry

i avoid using my retinol if my skin feels dry and irritated, even if it is my planned day to use it

when curling your lashing start as close as you can to your lid without getting your lid caught in the eyelash curler, then hold down and press hard. i normally wait abour 5-10s then release, then move the curler up my lashes by about 1cm, then repeat it again. if im in a rush i just do one fast curl at the base then set it with mascara. the curl of the mascara will look better with the first method, however it will take more time. i have very straight lashes so if you have more of a natural curve to ur lashes then the effect of the curl may last longer

i typically lotion my body the day i shower, if im too tired ill do it the next day. missing too many days will cause my skin to become irritated

// return to research //